Faculty Handbook

Information Technology Committee (ITC) Bylaws

I. Objectives

A.  To support Western Connecticut State University remaining an accessible, responsive, and creative intellectual resource.

B.  To ensure that the students of Western Connecticut State University are empowered to attain the highest standards of academic achievement through exposure to the latest information technologies.

C.  To provide an infrastructure such that the University can continue to deliver excellent services through the use of state of the art technology and information systems.

D.  To assist the University in attracting and retaining outstanding faculty, students, and staff by providing them with the services necessary to meet their educational/occupational needs.

II. Responsibilities

A.  To make recommendations to the Chief Information Officer on:

    1. The direction of informational technologies.
    2. Minimum standards for desktop computers and peripherals for the University.
    3. Supported software (such as word processors, spreadsheets, etc.),
    4. Student computing,
    5. Training,
    6. Services,
    7. Technology in the classroom,
    8. Software in the classrooms and labs,
    9. The budget allocation of desktop computer funds for faculty and staff and the purchase of desktop computers for faculty and staff (the available funds for desktop computers will be based on state funding levels).
    10. The budget allocation of funds to support software used in classrooms and labs; the amount available will be no less then $20,000, and
    11. The budget allocation of funds to support software for faculty research, evaluation, and use; the amount available will be no less than $7,000;

B.  To act as a repository and distribution point for technology related initiatives and information;

C.  To annually produce a three-year technology plan;

D.  To assist the Chief Information Officer in updating the University’s strategic plan and ensure that the annual technology plan is in line with the University’s strategic plan; and

E.  To support instructional technologies that have been recommended by faculty and departments such as technology and software for classrooms and labs. The faculty develops and approves curriculum, and the ITC will support the faculty in these endeavors.

III. Membership

A.  The Committee membership shall consist of:

    1. Chief Information Officer, ex officio;
    2. Ancell School of Business (ASB) Technology Chairperson, ex officio;
    3. School of Arts and Sciences (A&S) Technology Chairperson, ex officio;
    4. School of Professional Studies (PS) Technology Chairperson, ex officio;
    5. School of Visual and Performing Arts (VPA) Technology Chairperson, ex officio;
    6. One (1) representative from Computer Science Department (needed if the A&S Technology Chairperson is not from the Computer Science Department), term determined by department;
    7. One (1) representative form Management Information Systems Department (needed if the ASB Technology Chairperson is not from Management Information Systems); term determined by department;
    8. Information Technology & Innovation representative, appointed by Chief Information Officer, ex officio;
    9. Director of Media Services, or designee ex officio;
    10. Director of Library Services, or designee ex officio;
    11. Student Government Association president or designee, one-year term; and
    12. One (1) technical student representative from Management Information Systems or Computer Science as determined by the SGA, one-year term.

B.  Working with the Dean, the faculty of each school will determine the composition of its school technology committee, duration of service to the committee for its membership, and the method of election/appointment of a chairperson as well as the duration of their term.

IV. Conduct Of Business

A.  Meetings

    1. The Committee will meet monthly. In the event that any member of the Committee cannot make a scheduled meeting, an alternate should be asked to attend.
    2. Meeting times will be arranged at the beginning of each semester and will be based upon the schedule of the majority of the ITC membership.
    3. A quorum shall consist of more than 50% of the ITC membership.

B.  Voting

    1. Each member has one vote.

C.  Reports

    1. Policy decisions will be reported to the University Senate.
    2. The Committee shall submit an annual report to the University Senate.

D.  Minutes

    1. Minutes of each meeting will be distributed within one week, in electronic form, to the:

      a.  Membership of the ITC,

      b.  University Senate president and archivist,

      c.  Academic Deans, Vice-Presidents, and

      d.  University President.

    2. Minutes will also be posted in a document library and accessible via the web.

E.  Officers

    1. The chairperson shall be elected by majority vote at the first meeting of the academic year for a two-year term.
    2. The secretary shall be the administrative assistant to Chief Information Officer.

F.  Amending the Bylaws

These Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of members present at any regularly scheduled meeting at which there is a quorum and with the approval of the University Senate and the President of the University.

Senate Approved:  R-00-05-03
Administrative Approval:  October 23, 2000
Senate Approved Nov. 15, 2006 (R-06-11-07)
Administrative Approval:  4/23/07

Rev. Senate Approved (R-09-10-03)

Administrative Approval 2/23/10


Related Links: