Melissa Teel named to Eastern College Athletic Conference All-Star Team

official release from ECAC offices

CENTERVILLE, MA (Mar. 22) — Senior forward Jaci Daigneault of Amherst College is the 2010-11 ECAC Division III New England Women's Basketball Player of the Year.

Daigneault led the Lord Jeffs to both a New England Small College Athletic Conference and NCAA tournament championship. She was second in the conference in scoring with 14.8 points per game and first in field goal percentage with 58.9.

Smith College freshman Rosa Drummond has been chosen as the 2010-11 ECAC Division III New England Women's Basketball Rookie of the Year, with averages of 12.5 points and 6.8 rebounds. The Pioneer freshman was named the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year for her efforts this season.

Joining Daigneault on the ECAC first team are senior center Melissa Teel (Hamden, CT) from Western Connecticut State University, Nicole Wurdeman of Babson College, Katie Burgeron of Bowdoin College and Colleen Hart of Tufts University.

Teel averaged a double double this season with 18.2 points and 12.6 rebounds per game.

Wurdeman averaged 18.8 points and 8.7 rebounds for the Beavers, while Burgeron scored 12.1 points and had 3.6 rebounds per game for Bowdoin.

Hart led the Jumbos in scoring with 288 points, 16.0 per game.

Six players were also selected to the ECAC second team: Erin Phillips from Salve Regina University, Jen Wehner of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, Christine Daniels and Karissa Doyon of Norwich University, Ashley Wright of Endicott College and Stephanie Coro from Rhode Island College.

2010-11 ECAC Division III New England Women's Basketball All-Stars

Player of the Year
Jaci Daigneault Sr. F Amherst

Rookie of the Year
Rosa Drummond Fr. F Smith

First Team
Melissa Teel Sr. C Western Conn.
Jaci Daigneault Sr. F Amherst
Nicole Wurdeman Jr. F/C Babson
Katie Burgeron Sr. G Bowdoin
Colleen Hart Sr. G Tufts

Second Team
Erin Phillips Sr. F Salve Regina
Jen Wehner Jr. F MCLA
Christine Daniels Sr. F Norwich
Ashley Wright Sr. G Endicott
Karissa Doyon Sr. G Norwich
Stephanie Coro Jr. G Rhode Island College