Sean Macey and Raul Bourgeios named to All-LEC Men's Lacrosse First Team

Tyler Martone, Brandon Marszelak and Erik Small honored on Second Team

official release from Jack Holleran - LEC Director of Communcations

NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA (May 10) - The Little East Conference handed out its annual men’s lacrosse end of season awards and all-conference teams this afternoon after each of the eight conference coaches submitted in a ballot. Keene State College, after claiming both the Little East regular season and tournament titles, was rewarded with three major awards as junior attacker Griffin Meehan (Simsbury, Conn.) was named the Offensive Player of the Year, junior defender Sean Leblanc (Simsbury, Conn.) was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year, and freshman midfielder Andrew Fazio (Shrub Oak, N.Y.) was tabbed as Rookie of the Year.  University of Massachusetts Dartmouth mentor Kevin Mahoney garnered the Coach of the Year award, while Plymouth State University claimed the Team Sportsmanship Award.

In addition to the major award winners, the conference office sponsored a 12-member first-team and 11-member second squad. 

Meehan has become the most decorated offensive men’s lacrosse player in the history of the conference in just his third season in Keene, N.H. The Simsbury, Conn. product is the only student-athlete to store two top offensive awards and the top rookie award in his trophy case.  Meehan became the Owls’ career leader in goals (167) and points (250) during his junior campaign, surpassing both previous marks held by Eric Momnie. He currently sits among the nation’s top offensive threats, ranking third in goals both per game (3.81) and points per game (5.38). The three-time All-Little East, first-team selection is second in the Little East in goals (61) and points (86), while ranking third in assists (25). He overpowered the conference circuit, recording 33 markers and 10 helpers for 43 points in just seven contests.  A prolific scorer, Meehan has registered at least one goal in each of his 48 career contests, including 16 this season. He scored seven markers and collected 10 points in back-to-back games against Salem State and Western Connecticut to match his career high in each category. Meehan also handed out five helpers against Wheaton (Mass.) to match his previous career best. He was honored as the conference’s Offensive Player of the Week twice on the campaign.

Leblanc is just the second Keene State student-athlete to be awarded the top defensive trophy, joining three-time recipient Matt Johnson (2006-08). The Simsbury, Conn. native is the anchor of the Owls defensive unit. Under his leadership, Keene State is ranked 12th in the nation in winning percentage (.875) and 13th in scoring margin (6.63). The Owls sport the second lowest goals against average in the conference (8.17) and third most effective penalty-killing unit (76.2 success rate). When Keene State limited its opponent to six or fewer goals, the Owls boasted a 6-1 mark. A starter in 14 of his 16 matches, Leblanc has collected 37 ground balls and forced 10 turnovers. He scooped up multiple ground balls in 11 games, including a season-high seven against Eastern Connecticut in the championship match. Leblanc registered his lone point of the season against the Warriors on April 16.

Fazio joins an exclusive club of Keene State men’s lacrosse players that have claimed top rookie honors. The native of Shrub Oak, N.Y. broke into the starting lineup over the second half of the season as a long-stick midfielder. A starter in five of his 16 games, Fazio scooped up 40 ground balls and caused 16 turnovers. He collected a season-high 14 ground balls against Plymouth State on April 27. Fazio earned the start in each of the two Little East Tournament games, where the Owls held their opponents to just 7.5 goals per game. He forced a season-high five turnovers against Western Connecticut in the semifinal round victory. Fazio will be making his debut in the NCAA Division III Tournament when Keene State travels to Amherst College on May 11.

Mahoney is making his second appearance as the top mentor in the conference, and first since receiving the accolade in 2004. In both years, he led the Corsairs to the No. 2 seed and the right to host a home match in the semifinals of the Little East Tournament.  Under his guidance, UMass Dartmouth established a new single-season record for victories (13), putting an additional three wins between this year’s edition and the 2008 squad. The Corsairs also became just the second team inside the conference circuit to defeat Eastern Connecticut, when UMass Dartmouth posted a 10-9 victory on April 19. Mahoney mentored two student-athletes on the all-conference second-team, including junior attacker Nick Brett (Loudon, N.H.).  Brett led the conference in game-winning goals (4), while ranking second in goals per game (3.53) and points per game (4.54). Mahoney will welcome back a young and highly-skilled nucleus of talent in 2012.
The Little East Conference is celebrating its 25th anniversary during the 2010-11 academic year. The conference began sponsoring men's and women's basketball in 1986 as a six-member conference. The Little East has grown to its current eight-institution membership and sponsorship of 19 intercollegiate athletics sports.

2011 All-Little East Men's Lacrosse Teams

First Team
Name................. Position...... Institution

Taylor Jette......... Attacker...... Keene State College
Sean Macey........... Attacker...... Western Connecticut State University
Griffin Meehan....... Attacker...... Keene State College
Matt Shairer......... Attacker...... Keene State College
Salieu Bolivar....... Midfielder.... Eastern Connecticut State University
Raul Bourgeois....... Midfielder.... Western Connecticut State University
Ian Hart............. Midfielder.... Keene State College
Eric Vasil........... Specialist.... Eastern Connecticut State University
Justin Dube.......... Defender...... Plymouth State University
Tom Flynn............ Defender...... Eastern Connecticut State University
Sean Leblanc......... Defender...... Keene State College
Brendan Gill......... Goalie........ Salem State University

Second Team
Name................. Position...... Institution

Grant Albertson...... Attacker...... Eastern Connecticut State University
Nick Brett........... Attacker...... University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Michael Sullinger.... Attacker...... Eastern Connecticut State University
Kyle Baker........... Midfielder.... University of Southern Maine
Michael Devine....... Midfielder.... Eastern Connecticut State University
Stephen Espinola..... Midfielder.... University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Eric Small........... Specialist.... Western Connecticut State University
Justin Flessa-Leroche Defender...... Keene State College
Brandon Marszalek.... Defender...... Western Connecticut State University
Ryan Schneeloch...... Defender...... Eastern Connecticut State University
Tyler Martone........ Goalie........ Western Connecticut State University

Coach of the Year
Kevin Mahoney, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Offensive Player of the Year
Griffin Meehan, Keene State College

Defensive Player of the Year
Sean Leblanc, Keene State College

Rookie of the Year
Andrew Fazio, Keene State College

Team Sportsmanship Award
Plymouth State University