DaQuan Brooks named to the Met Basketball Writers Association First Team

from the desk of Chuck Stogel - Met Writers Association Publicist

NEW YORK, NY (Apr. 19) — Senior guard DaQuan Brooks (Atlanta, GA) was named to the All-Met Basketball Writers Asassociation First Team after a standout season for the Western Connecticut State University men's basketball team.

A.J. Matthews of Farmingdale State was named 2011-12 All-Met Division III men’s college basketball player of the year

Jose Rebimbas of William Paternson was selected coach of the year for a fourth time.

Joining Matthews on the All-Met first team: Lance Brown, Wm. Paterson; DaQuan Brooks, Western Connecticut; T.J. Tibbs, Staten Island; Andy Stein, NYU; Winston Douglas, Medgar Evers.

The All-Met second team: Andrew August, Montclair State; Corey Chandler, Wm. Paterson; Carlos Valdez, Mount St. Mary; Jordan Young, Staten Island; Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph’s-LI; Jerome Alexander, John Jay.

The All-Met third team: Tyshawn Russell and Amil John, Brooklyn; Simon Smith and Sheldon Jones, Stevens Tech; Reed Buck, U.S. Merchant Marine Acad.; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch; Adam Katz; FDU-Florham/

A 7-0 junior forward from Brooklyn, N.Y., Matthews led the nation with 16.3 rpg, was third nationally with 3.7 blocks per game, 11th in the NCAA with 22.4 ppg and 12th with a .614 field goal percentage. Also named the Skyline Conference player of the year, he led the nation with 26 double-doubles in 27 games played, and set a single season school record with 99 blocks and 605 points.

In his 17th season at the helm, Rebimbas guided the Pioneers to a 24-4 overall record, the NJAC North regular season title with an 11-2 record and to their eighth NCAA tournament appearance during his tenure. Previously named All-Met coach of the year in 1999, 2006 and 2010, he has an overall coaching record of 337-151. He lives in Warren, N.J., with his wife, Lisa, and two children.

The All-Met first and second team players, and coach of the year, will be honored Thursday evening, April 26, at the 79th NIT/MBWA awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

FIRST TEAM: A.J. Matthews, Farmingdale, 7-0, jr, F, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Lance Brown, Wm. Paterson, 6-4, jr, G-F, Teaneck, N.J.; DaQuan Brooks, Western Connecticut State, 5-10, sr, G, Atlanta; T.J. Tibbs, Staten Island, 5-10, sr, G, Staten Island; Andy Stein, NYU, 6-8, sr, C, Bethlehem, Pa.; Winston Douglas, Medgar Evers, 6-4, jr, F, Hempstead, N.Y.

SECOND TEAM: Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph’s-LI, 6-0, sr, G, Huntington Station, N.Y.; Andrew August, Montclair, 6-7, sr, F, Bridgewater, N.J.; Corey Chandler, Wm. Paterson, 6-2, jr, G, Newark, N.J.; Carlos Valdez, Mount St. Mary, 6-7, sr, F, Carolina, P.R.; Jordan Young, Staten Island, 6-5, sr, F-C, Asbury Park, N.J.; Jerome Alexander, John Jay, 6-4, sr, G-F, Brooklyn, N.Y.

THIRD TEAM: Tyshawn Russell, Brooklyn, 5-11, sr, G, Jamaica, N.Y.; Simon Smith, Stevens, 6-5, sr, F, Cranford, N.J.; Reed Buck, USMMA, 6-5, so, F, Lawrenceville, N.J.; Sheldon Jones, Stevens, 6-1, jr, G, Queens, N.Y.; Amil John, Brooklyn, 5-10, sr, G, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch, 6-1, sr, G-F, Glendale, N.Y.; Adam Katz, FDU-Florham, 5-8, sr, G, Wharton, N.J.

Player of the year: A.J. Matthews, Farmingdale.
Coach of the year: .Jose Rebimbas, Wm. Paterson