DaQuan Brooks named to All-Met Men's Division III All-Star Team... Bob Campbell named Co-Coach of the Year

official release from the desk of Chuck Stogel

NEW YORK, NY (Apr. 19) —Jonathan Jones of Kean was named 2010-11 All-Met Division III men’s college basketball player of the year Tuesday by the National Invitation Tournament and the Met Basketball Writers Association.

Bob Campbell of Western Connecticut State University and Chuck McBreen of Ramapo were selected co-coaches of the year.

Joining Jones on the All-Met first team: Marvin Billups, Purchase; Marcel Esonwune, York; DaQuan Brooks (Atlanta, GA), Western Connecticut; Pedro Burgos, Rutgers-Newark; Lester Prosper, Old Westbury; Ahmad Hassan, Ramapo.

The All-Met second team: Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph’s-LI; Giovanni Hurley, Maritime; Jordan Young, Staten Island; Andy Stein, NYU; Andrew August, Montclair; Asmar Capers, Drew.

The All-Met third team: Olivier Laurent, St. Joseph’s-LI; Frantz Granjean, Old Westbury; Nathaniel Young, NYC Tech; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch; Jovan Deare, Medgar Evers.

A senior forward from Linden, N.J., Jones was eighth in the nation in Division III with 23.9 ppg and second in the NCAA with 13.7 rpg. The NJAC player of the year, he shot 53.9% from the floor and finished with 1,359 career points, sixth best in school history. An All-Met second team selection last year, Jones tore his Achilles tendon in the NJAC tournament semifinals.

Campbell, in his 27th season, guided the Colonials to a 22-6 record along with an at-large bid and the school’s 11th appearance in the NCAA tournament under his direction. Also named coach of the year in the Little East Conference, Western was regular season co-champion, won its first round game in the NCAAs before bowing out in the second round. Campbell was previously named All-Met coach of the year in 2002. His career coaching record is 519-218, a .704 winning percentage.

McBreen’s Roadrunners posted a 20-7 record and advanced to the NJAC tournament semifinals. They gained an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III tournament, losing in the first round. In his 13th year as the head coach at Ramapo, McBreen was previously named All-Met coach of the year in 2003 and 2005.

The All-Met first and second team players, and coaches of the year, will be honored on Tuesday evening, April 26, at the 78th NIT/MBWA college awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.


FIRST TEAM: Jonathan Jones, Kean, 6-5, sr, F, Linden, N.J.; Marvin Billups, Purchase, 6-5, sr, F, Chester, N.Y.; Marcel Esonwune, York, 6-6, sr, F-C, Lagos, Nigeria; DaQuan Brooks, Western Connecticut, 5-10, jr, G, Atlanta; Pedro Burgos, Rutgers-Newark; 5-11, jr, G, Fort Lee, N.J.; Lester Prosper, Old Westbury, 6-10, sr, C, Bellmore, N.Y.; Ahmad Hassan, Ramapo, 6-0, jr, G, Edgewater, N.J.

SECOND TEAM: Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph’s-LI, 6-0, jr, G, Huntington Station, N.Y.; Giovanni Hurley, New York Maritime, 6-4, sr, F, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Jordan Young, Staten Island, 6-5, jr, F, Asbury Park, N.J.; Andy Stein, NYU, 6-8, jr, C, Bethlehem, Pa.; Andrew August, Montclair, 6-6, jr, F, Bridgewater, N.J.; Asmar Capers, Drew, 6-3, jr, G, Bridgewater, N.J.

THIRD TEAM: Olivier Laurent, St. Joseph’s-LI, 6-2, jr, G, Amityville, N.Y.; Frantz Granjean, Old Westbury, 6-6, sr, F-C, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Nathaniel Young, NYC Tech, 6-7, jr, F, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch, 6-1, jr, G-F, Glendale, N.Y.; Jovan Deare, Medgar Evers, 6-3, fr, G-F, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Player of the year: Jonathan Jones, Kean.
Co-coaches of the year: Bob Campbell, Western Connecticut; Chuck McBreen, Ramapo.