Macricostas School of Arts & Sciences

Math Department

Faculty

 

Department Chair – Stavros Christofi
christofis@wcsu.edu
WH 321A
(203) 837-9351
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Brown University 1995

Numerical Solution of Partial Differential Equations, Scientific Computing, Finite Difference Methods, ENO-WENO schemes, Actuarial Science, Industrial Mathematics, and the teaching of Applied Mathematics

David Burns
burnsd@wcsu.edu
WH 320
(203) 837-9346
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. North Dakota State University, 1993
Geometry, Dynamical Systems, Mathematics Education

Becky Hall
hallb@wcsu.edu
WH 316A
(203)837-9363
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Wesleyan University
Algebra, Mathematics Education

Josie Hamer
hamerj@wcsu.edu
WH 322B
(203) 837-9347
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Purdue University,
Statistics, Problem Solving, Online Learning, Geometry

Senan Hayes
HayesS@wcsu.edu
WH 316C
(203)837-3917
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Teachers College, Columbia University
Mathematics Education

Sam Lightwood
lightwoods@wcsu.edu
WH 318C
(203) 837-9369
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Maryland – College Park, 1998
Symbolic Dynamics, Tilings, Ergodic Theory

Amanda Lubell
lubella@wcsu.edu
WH 318A
(203) 837-9364
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Maryland – College Park, 1997
Logic, Algebra, Role of Mathematics in General Education.

Paula Maida
maidap@wcsu.edu
WH 316B
(203) 837-9361
Ph.D. American University,
Professor of Mathematics
Mathematics Education

Charles Rocca
roccac@wcsu.edu
WH 322A
(203) 837-9360
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. SUNY Albany, 2001
Combinatorial Group Theory, Number Theory, History of Mathematics, Technology in Math Education

Michael Shoushani
shoushanim@wcsu.edu
WH 322B
203-837-8745
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Delaware, 2014
Numerical methods for PDEs, boundary value problems, teaching applied mathematics

Lydia S. Novozhilova, Ph.D.
novozhiloval@wcsu.edu
WH 318B
(203) 837-9348
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Rostov State University, Russia
Ph.D. Michigan State University
Calculus of Variations, Applied Mathematics in Mechanics, Symbolic Computations in Mathematics Education

Xiaodi Wang
wangx@wcsu.edu
WH 326
(203) 837-9355
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Michigan State
Numerical Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations, Harmonic Analysis, Problem Solving, Mathematical Finance