HISTORY DEPARTMENT FACULTY

Department Secretary
Patricia Lerner
224 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8484
email: lernerp@wcsu.edu

Full-time Faculty

Katherine Allocco
(Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2004)
Medieval and Early Modern Europe, Gender and Sexuality, Film
214 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8482
alloccok@wcsu.edu

Surekha Davies
(Ph.D., University of London, 2009)
Early Modern Europe, History of Science, Cartography, History of Ethnography
225a Warner Hall
(203) 837-3912
daviess@wcsu.edu

Jennifer Nugent Duffy (Associate Chairperson)
(Ph.D., New York University, 2008)
Modern U.S., Ethnicity, Urban and Suburban History, Irish-American History
224 Warner Hall
(203) 837-3283
duffyj@wcsu.edu

Wynn Gadkar-Wilcox (Department Chairperson)
(Ph.D., Cornell University, 2002)
Asia (especially Vietnam and China), Historiography, Intellectual History
218 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8565
wilcoxw@wcsu.edu

Kevin R. C. Gutzman  (Graduate Coordinator)
(Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1999; J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 1990)
Early America/Early National Period
222 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8455
 gutzmank@wcsu.edu

Leslie Lindenauer
(Ph.D., NYU, 1997)
Early America, Women, History of the Body, Public History, History of Religion
212 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-9046
lindenauerl@wcsu.edu

Martha May
(Ph.D., SUNY Binghamton, 1984)
Modern United States, Women and Gender
220 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8481
maym@wcsu.edu

Michael E. Nolan
(Ph.D., Brandeis University, 2001)
Modern France and Germany
223 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8483
nolanm@wcsu.edu

Joshua M. Rosenthal
(Ph.D., Columbia University, 2001)
Latin America (especially Colombia)
216 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8449
rosenthalj@wcsu.edu

Abubaker Saad
(Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle, 1987)
Middle East/Non-Western Cultures
Phone: (203) 837-8480
saada@wcsu.edu

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

 

Faculty Emeriti can be reached by contacting the department office at (203) 837-8484.

David Detzer
(PhD, University of Connecticut, 1970)
United States

Herbert Janick
(Ph.D., Fordham, 1968)
Urban, Material Culture, Architecture, Connecticut

John A. Leopold
(Ph.D., Catholic, 1968)
Modern Europe, Germany, New York City

George Linabury
(Ph.D., Columbia, 1970)
Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Egypt

Kenneth Young
(Ph.D., NYU, 1970)
Burma, Philippines, Southeast Asia, Diplomacy, US Foreign Relations

Part-time Faculty

All part-time faculty members can be reached at: (203) 837-8484.  See the Department Secretary for office locations.

Michael Abraham
(MA, Fairfield, 1984)
Middle East, East Asia
abrahamm@wcsu.edu

Amy A. Campanaro
(MA, Albany, 2002)
United States
campanaroa@wcsu.edu

George Coleman
(MS, Teacher's College, Columbia, 1977)
African-American
colemang@wcsu.edu

Shannon Doherty
(MA, Western Connecticut, 2003)
United States, Modern Europe
dohertys@wcsu.edu

Stephen T. Flanagan
(MA, Western Connecticut, 1984; MA St. John's NY, 1996)
United States
flanagans@wcsu.edu

Laurence N. Friedman
(Cert., SCSU, 1986)
United States
friedmanl@wcsu.edu

Gregory Jackson
(Ph.D. , Stony Brook University, 2013)
Latin America, Brazil, History of Sport
216 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8449
jacksong@wcsu.edu

Betsy S. Needle
(MA, Jewish Theological Sem., 1997)
Judaism, Christianity
needleb@wcsu.edu

John L. Palencsar
(ABD, Albany)
United States
palencsarj@wcsu.edu

Maryann Rossi
(PhD, St. Louis, 1983; Assistant Dean of Professional Studies)
Early US, material culture, historic preservation
rossim@wcsu.edu

Terri Stramiello
M.A., Western Connecticut State University
Courses Taught: American Perspectives, Summer German Studies Exchange Course on American History or topics of special interest to the students, such as slavery, the death penalty, immigration, etc.
stramiellot@wcsu.edu
Interests/Community Activities: Founder, Danbury Railway Museum; researching a manuscript entitled "Women and the Railroad;" relaxation activities include gardening, needlework, reading.

John Szablewicz
M.A., History, Western Connecticut State University, 1993
M.A., Education, Fairfield University, 1976
B.A., Anthropology, SUNY at New Paltz, 1970
Courses Taught: United States History to 1877
United States History from 1877 to Present
Chinese History and Culture
Email: szablew@ct.charter.com

Timothy C. Tuttle
(PhD, NYU, 1996)
Civil War, New Deal, 1960's US
tuttlet@wcsu.edu

Peter Vermilyea
(BA, Gettysburg College; MA, WCSU; CAGS, Southern Connecticut State)
Courses Taught: American Perspectives, US History
Interests and Community Activities: American Military History, The Battle of Gettysburg, Running, Kayaking, Guitar, Baseball
Email: pvermily@yahoo.com

Susann M. Walens
(PhD, Union Institute, 1994)
United States, criminology, oral history
walenss@wcsu.edu

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury


Fair
Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F


Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°