School of Arts and Sciences

Dean: Missy Alexander, Ph.D.
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
alexanderm@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9400
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Assistant Dean: Cigdem Usekes, Ph.D.
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
usekesc@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9406
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Administrative Assistant: Martha Palanzo
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
palanzom@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9401
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Secretary: Bob Albert
Warner Hall 300, Midtown campus
albertb@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9402
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Departments:

Biology & Environmental Sciences
Chair: Patrice Boily, Ph.D.
boilyp@wcsu.edu
Science Building 243, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8569
(203) 837-8769 (fax)

Chemistry
Chair: Russell Selzer, Ph.D.
selzerr@wcsu.edu
Science Building 310, Midtown campus
(203) 837- 8448
(203) 837- 8769 (fax)
Associate Chair: Paula Secondo, Ph.D.
secondop@wcsu.edu
Science Building 339, Midtown Campus
(203) 837-8795
(203) 837-8769 (fax)

Communication and Media Arts
Chair: Katy Wiss, Ph.D.
wissk@wcsu.edu
Berkshire Hall 213a, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8260
(203) 837-8912 (fax)

Computer Science
Chair: Gancho Ganchev, Ph.D.
ganchevg@wcsu.edu
Westside Classroom Building 114
(203) 837-9349
(203) 837-8527 (fax)
Associate Chair: Todor Ivanov, Ph.D.
ivanovt@wcsu.edu
Westside Classroom Building 107
(203) 837-9356
(203) 837-8527 (fax)

English
Chair: Donald Gagnon, Ph.D.
gagnond@wcsu.edu
Berkshire Hall 223, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9062
(203) 837- 8912 (fax)

History and Non-Western Cultures
Chair: Wynn Gadkar-Wilcox, Ph.D.
wilcoxw@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 218, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8565
(203) 837-8905 (fax)
Associate Chair: Jennifer Nugent Duffy, Ph.D.
duffyj@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 224, Midtown campus
(203) 837-3283
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

Mathematics
Chair: Josie Hamer, Ph.D.
hamerj@wcsu.edu
Higgins Hall 102e, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9347
(203) 837-8769 (fax)

Philosophy and Humanistic Studies
Chair: Stuart Dalton, Ph.D.
daltons@wcsu.edu
White Hall 021b, Midtown campus
(203) 837-3282
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

Physics, Astronomy & Meteorology
Chair: James P. Boyle, Ph.D.
boylej@wcsu.edu
Science Building 273, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8856
(203) 837-8320 (fax)
Associate Chair: Robert Eisenson, M.S.
eisensonr@wcsu.edu
Science Building 277, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8989
(203) 837-8320 (fax)

Psychology
Chair: Shane Murphy, Ph.D.
murphys@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 311, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9398
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

Social Sciences
Chair: Oluwole Owoye, Ph.D.
owoyeo@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 204, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8456
(203) 837-8905 (fax)
Associate Chair: Averell Manes, Ph.D.
manesa@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 203, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8452
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

World Languages & Literature
Chair: Galina Bakhtiarova, Ph.D.
bakhtiarg@wcsu.edu
Berkshire Hall 215D, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8734
(203) 837-8912 (fax)

Writing, Linguistics and the Creative Process
Chair: Patrick Ryan, Ph.D.
ryanp@wcsu.edu
Higgins 205d, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9044
(203) 837-8912 (fax)

Mission

The School of Arts and Sciences strives to help our students develop the habits of inquiry that are the essence of a liberal arts education. We are committed to placing disciplinary expertise within a broader liberal arts context in order to encourage the creative and analytic thinking that comes with interdisciplinary thought. We expect all of our graduates to be able to access and evaluate information with reason and evidence, and to effectively communicate about that information to diverse audiences. In the School of Arts and Sciences, we believe that a liberal arts education is outstanding preparation for a productive and rewarding life.

Objectives

  • To provide all students with an education that supports the development of strong critical and analytic thinking.
  • To present students with educational opportunities in the traditional arts and sciences disciplines that will prepare them for careers, further education, and an informed life.
  • To facilitate opportunities for integrative learning, allowing students to draw connections between the classroom and their many professional and community contexts.
  • To encourage interdisciplinary thinking and creative problem solving in and outside of the classroom.

To meet these objectives

  • Students complete rigorous academic programs developed by highly qualified faculty who are guided by current scholarship in their disciplines.
  • Our faculty engages students in collaborative research and learning opportunities, connecting theory with practice, applying topics learned in the classroom to real-world problems.
  • Students have many opportunities to take their knowledge outside of the classroom through internships/co-ops, service learning courses, and volunteer work in the local community and abroad.
  • We offer interdisciplinary majors, minors, courses, seminars, events, and study-abroad opportunities as a regular part of the learning environment.

The School of Arts and Sciences plays a central role in the education of every student at Western Connecticut State University. Whether through the foundations in our general education curriculum or the depth of knowledge provided by our major programs, we are committed to creating outstanding learning opportunities for all.

 

Undergraduate Degree Programs

Associate in Science

AS-Liberal Arts

Bachelor of Arts

BA- American Studies

BA-Anthropology/Sociology
Option:
Applied Studies

BA-Biology
Options:
Biology
Bioscience

Ecological Science

BA-Chemistry
Options:
Biochemistry–ACS Approval
Biochemistry
Biotechnology

BA-Communication
Options:
Communication Studies
Relational Communication

BA-Computer Science

BA-Contract Major

BA-Earth and Planetary Sciences

BA-Economics
Option:
Applied Studies

BA-English

BA-History

BA-Mathematics
Option:
Computer Science

BA-Media Arts
Options:
Media Production
Media Studies

BA-Political Science

BA-Professional Writing
Options:
Business Writing
Creative Writing
General Writing
Journalism & Freelance
Public Relations

BA-Psychology

BA-Social Sciences
Options:
Anthropology/Sociology Studies
Family Studies
Global Studies
Multicultural Studies

BA-Spanish

Bachelor of Science

BS-Contract Major

BS-Meteorology

The School of Arts and Sciences supports the Bachelor of Science (BS), elementary and secondary education, through course content in the following areas:

Elementary Education Secondary Education
American Studies Biology
Anthropology/Sociology Chemistry
Biology Earth Science
Communication English
English English (Teaching of Writing)
English (Teaching of Writing) History
History Mathematics
Mathematics Social Sciences
Political Science Spanish
Psychology
Social Sciences
Spanish

See School of Professional Studies for more information on the Education degree programs.

Admissions

Please refer to the department area in this catalog for specific admission procedures and requirements, or contact the Office of University Admissions at (203) 837-9000.

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury


Fair
Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F


Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°