HomeMarketing CareersUndergraduate ProgramsStudentsFaculty


More Marketing Department News

Present and Past


Lauren BergrenLauren Bergren is the former president of our collegiate chapter of the American Marketing Association. Lauren led the Club to receive a Top 25 Chapter Award at the 35th International Collegiate Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana. Her success with the AMA led her to a outstanding start to a career in marketing. She is now working at GMR Marketing, a company named the Sports Event and Experiential Agency of the Year in May 2014.  Lauren is also a manager at Survey Sampling International, a top global marketing research company.

Jill Caprio-Scalera was the recipient of the 2015 Marketing Department Award given to the top graduate. She was unanimously selected by the Marketing faculty for this award.  Jill was inducted into Alpha Mu Alpha the Honorary Society of the American Marketing Association and she is also a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Honors Society, and Alpha Sigma Lamda.  She is a published author and was a member of the Community Service Club of New Fairfield.   Jill will be pursuing her entrepreneurial interests with WearArmor, a company she founded that markets devotional and inspirational jewelry.
Tyler VentrellaTyler Ventrella received the 2012 Department Award with a GPA of  3.72. Tyler was co-president of our award-winning collegiate chapter of the American Marketing Association and he participated in events and sessions at the International Conference in 2012.  Tyler was also inducted into Alpha Mu Alpha the honorary society in Marketing.  Tyler interned at the prestigious Peppers and Rogers Group, Global HQ in Stamford, CT.  Tyler is now  working as an Account Coordinator at Mediassociates. Jessica Zingle Jessica Zingle, 2013 graduate, President of our award-winner chapter of the American Marketing Association, is the recipient of the prestigious Direct Marketing Educational Foundation's Lee Epstein Scholarship.  This is a nationally competitive scholarship program, with past recipients from schools such as Columbia University, NYU and flagship state universities.  Jessica continues the tradition of DMEF recognizing our marketing majors with this prestigious award.
TimBosch Tim Bosch was the recipient of the 2011 Department Award with a GPA of 3.97.  Tim was co-president of the Marketing Club and was inducted into Alpha Mu Alpha, the honorary society in Marketing. He is currently employed as a Buzz Builder Manager at Likeable Media.  Tim also received the Navy Achievement Metal in 2008. SissiSissi Rivera was was co-president of the Marketing Club, vice president of Delta Gamma Phi Sorority, treasurer of Greek Council, senator for Student Government Association and worked as an Orientation Leader. She received the 2011 Vice Presidents Award for Leadership. 
Kara Roos was the recipient of the 2010 Department Award. Her GPA was an exceptional 4.0.  Kara was a member of our collegiate chapter of the American Marketing Association and was inducted into Alpha Mu Alpha.  Kara quickly established her career track in Marketing, even while attending WestConn.   Kara held the positions of Advertising/Marketing Coordinator at the The Society of Plastics Engineers and Marketing/Sales Coordinator at LibertasMD.  Kara is currently Assistant Affiliate Manager at Fosina Marketing Group. Jessica Joram was co-recipient of the 2008 Marketing Department award.  She was also inducted in Alpha Mu Alpha, the honorary society in marketing, in April 2008.  Jessica was an intern at Church Hill Classics in Monroe and took a full-time position with the company when she graduated in May 2008.  She is currently Assistant Marketing Manager at Church Hill Classics

Kim Halloran was co-recipient of the 2008 Marketing Department award.  In 2007 Kim  received the CT AMA "Student Marketer of the Year Award."   Kim also received the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation's David Florence Scholarship and the Cirilli / Groiler Direct Marketing Scholarship for 2007, and Alpha Mu Alpha induction.  Kim is currently a Brand Assistant at Kraft Foods.

  Nathan Hoyt was selected for the 2007 Marketing Department award.  This award is given to the top graduating marketing major.  Nate was an intern at the Ancell Center for Business Research.  Nate is also a past recipient of the Dante Cirilli / Grolier Direct Marketing Scholarship and the Grace B. Wheeler Scholarship.

Marketing graduate profiled in WCSU Alumni Magazine

Carissa Wilson is a 2002 graduate of our program.  Carissa helps global companies with Internet marketing.  She is currently Director of International Online Marketing at Guthy-Renker.

DMEF Announces 2006 Student Scholarship Recipients

The Direct Marketing Educational Foundation granted scholarships to two WCSU marketing students.  The Dave Florence Scholarship was award to Kim Halloran and Amy Scott received the Lee Epstein Fund Scholarship.  This is the second consecutive year that a WCSU marketing major has been awarded the Dave Florence Scholarship.  (See below)

Students in Dr. Koza's 2006 MKT 490 Marketing Management worked with students from SIAS University in China to develop a marketing plan for a major Asian bus company.  This collaborative project continues in the graduate and undergraduate marketing strategy courses.

Jonathan Soares a recent graduate of the marketing program at Western Connecticut State University was selling a barbecue sauce in supermarkets across the country.  He is currently working on his next venture, a social commerce platform called ShopCloud.

Stephanie O'Brien received the CT AMA "Above and Beyond Communications Student Marketer of the Year Award" in 2006.
Stephanie O'Brien was also the charter recipient of the David Florence Scholarship. The Scholarship Fund, which was established under the auspices of the Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF), was created in October 2004 to recognize the induction of Mr. Florence, Chairman of Direct Media, Inc., into the DMA Hall of Fame.

Chris Hennessy faced stiff competition in his quest to be the Above and Beyond Communications Student Marketer of the Year in 2005.

Stefanie Weise and Kristine Koehler were honored with New England Direct Marketing Association scholarships in 2005.

Dr. Drozdenko received the New England Direct Marketing Association Award for Excellence in Direct Marketing Education in 2005

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury

Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F

Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°